Loneliness. - Play Safe Forum Topics
Use this button to quickly leave the website
Quick Exit
Visit the blog

Home Forums Hanging Out Loneliness.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    EarthMamaEarthMama

Let’s talk loneliness.
    When do you feel it?
    What do you do about it?
    How is loneliness different to being ‘alone’?

I feel lonely when I don’t feel heard or understood. When I feel like there is no one in the world who puts me first or even really considers how I’m feeling. It is all-consuming sometimes.

I am trying to sit with it and read, watch movies, cry if I need to. I don’t want resist it because it feel like a sign that I need to pay closer attention to myself. I am also trying to commit myself to things I enjoy doing, rather than just talking about doing them.

I am not technically alone, but I often feel lonely.
    Who else relates?

PurplePurple

Hi @earthmama thanks for such an interesting thread. It sucks not feeling understood! Sometimes you just need someone to listen and who is going to empathise with your point of view. I feel lonely sometimes, not in regards to friends because my friends are incredible, but romantically. Lately a few ex’s have been contacting me about hanging out again and even though they’re nice-ish people, I know that I’m better off without them. I just keep on thinking about this quote I saw on Twitter “Don’t be afraid of the solitude that comes with raising your standards”. I don’t mean that in a snobby way, but I think it’s really important to remember what it is that you deserve, and sometimes feeling lonely or alone is better than the alternative which is spending time with someone who isn’t what you truly want or need.

Aunt_FloAunt_Flo

I definitely relate to this. I think being alone is a physical thing and being lonely is emotional. To use the cliche, you really can be lonely in a crowded room, without actually being alone.